Fundraising Heifers Raffle

Fundraising Heifers Raffle

Fundraiser to Support the Ongoing Development Works at the Ardrahan GAA Centre.
(10% of Funds raised will go to Cancer Care West.)

1st Prize 2 Heifers or €5000
2nd Prize €500 Cash
3rd Prize €250 Voucher

Raffle - 8th September 2024
Tickets €20 each or three for €50

Tickets online or from Ardrahan GAA & Ardrahan Camogie Committee Members.

Ardrahan GAA & Ardrahan Camogie would like to thank you for your continued support.
Lottery Licence Granted by the District Court.


Tommy Tarpey

Tommy Tarpey

19th February 1933 – 14th January 2024

Tommy Tarpey was born in Ardrahan on 19th of February 1933 to Bridie and Thomas Tarpey. He was born into a family associated with the G.A.A., social and commercial life in Ardrahan. Tommy attended Ardrahan National School and entered St. Mary’s College Galway as a boarder, in September 1946. After his Leaving Certificate he entered St. Patricks College Maynooth and was ordained there on 2nd June 1958.

After his ordination in 1958, he took up a teaching position at St. Mary’s College where he very quickly became a hurling mentor. He left Mary’s in 1970 and took up a position with the Convent of Mercy co-educational school in Lisdoonvarna. He also acted as Chaplin to the nearby Stella Maris convalescent home.

Miko McInerney

Miko McInerney

1926 -2024

Miko was born in Limepark, Ardrahan on 5th June 1926 to Tom and Annie McInerney. He attended Ardrahan National School in Labane and entered St. Mary’s College in September 1940. After his Leaving Certificate, he attended University College Galway and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree and a H.Dip in Education. His main subjects were Irish and Geography. He spent long periods of his teaching career in Wexford CBS, St. Kieran’s Kilkenny and Ennistymon CBS.

In hurling, the past holds a rein on the present and with the news of his death, Ardrahan GAA lost its last link with the successful intermediate and senior hurling teams between 1948 and 1956. Miko was also the last surviving member of Galway’s All-Ireland final hurling team of 1953.

ArdrahanGAA Calendar
Calf Rearing Scheme

Our History

Ardrahan GAA club won its first Galway Senior Hurling Club Championship title in 1894 and since then has won it on 11 occasions, having contested 18 County Finals in its history. It lies second on the role of honour, only to Castlegar who have won 16 titles. The last title was won after a replay in 1978, against rival neighbours Ballindereen.